Thanksgiving

This is the 7th Thanksgiving I haven’t been with my family, and it still feels like yesterday that I was crawling around on the floor with my cousins playing “farm animal” while the adults exchanged Christmas lists. Now I spend my Thanksgivings preparing for ski races and cleaning a week’s worth of bacon grease off the kitchen counters.

I have so many things to be thankful for.

This past semester has been one of my hardest semesters had since coming to college. On more than one occasion I have felt like I am drowning in work. I have let responsibilities slip and let people down that I care about. To any college student out there considering taking three labs in one semester, I highly suggest thinking twice before registering for all of them. I also went through an emotional roller-coaster this fall where it seemed like I couldn’t do anything right.

Although this fall was trying, it made me realize how many amazing people are in my life. My coaches were understanding and let me take time away from practice, my friends dropped everything to make me smile, even my professors took me into their offices and asked what they could do to help. The world is filled with happy people, people who care about you and that happiness is infectious.

I am thankful to have the opportunity to spend this week with my ski team and to race at the West Yellowstone Ski Festival.

I am thankful for the snow.

I am thankful for my professors who have been super understanding about me turning in assignments to them while we’re on the road.

I am thankful for all of my non-ski-team friends for letting me escape from my athletic responsibilities, if even momentarily.

I am thankful for my parents and the rest of my family, who have supported everything I do.

I am thankful that this year we will have 3 pumpkin pies!

I am so fortunate to be surrounded by so many wonderful people. Now that I’ve had the time to lay in bed, watch too much T.V.  and catch up on the pile of tasks I’ve been drowning under, I am not longer a stress case. It’s time to have fun, enjoy what has been given to me and of course share that with everyone around me.

Happy Thanksgiving

 

Leave a Reply

