The first race of the season, this is the best and worst race of the year, every year. I am always really excited for the first races of the season, because racing is fun and it’s been 6 months since the last race. The first races of the season also terrify me. Are all of the hours I put in over the summer going to pay off? What if I forget something? Will I be better this year than I was last year? When you’re out on the race course, you can no longer hide behind the hours in your training log or your heart rate at intensity sessions.

Today my first race of the season was the 10k skate at the Yellowstone Ski Festival. I finished 34th and was only 10 seconds off of my time from last year, so if anything at least I’m consistent. The snow was fairly icy and dirty, but that’s nothing that our wax techs couldn’t handle. My skis were definitely faster than I was today.

Typical race day breakfast: Fruit Smoothie. It’s fitting that the only available container with a lid was for cheese.

It’s hard to not be a little disappointed when I look at the result and see that I was 12 spots back from where I was last year, but I’m not disappointed to be only being 10 seconds off of where I was last year. That’s good consistency.

A lot of the girls out there today have devoted their lives to skiing full time. On the flip side, because I’m still a student, I’ve had multiple nights this fall where I’ve been up past midnight trying to finish homework assignments and still manage to make it to practice in the morning. The stress levels in these to lifestyles are drastically different, and I am pleased to still be competitive within the women’s field. The competition is getting faster, so I guess that means I have to too!

It was a good first race, and I look forward to improving upon these results as the season progresses. Next up, we’re racing at home!

(Special thanks to the little girl and her father who had a spontaneous dance party with me last night in the supermarket parking lot. Such a great way to de-stress before the race!)

One thought on “And so it begins

Leave a Reply

